House Bill 104, State Employment Amendments, sponsored by Representative Kay Christofferson, will be heard in the House Government Operations Committee tomorrow, January 27 at 2:00pm.

UPEA has met with the sponsor of the bill, and other stakeholders, and voiced concern over moving specific groups of employees from career service status to at-will status.

In good faith, UPEA has proposed language, which other states have used, to protect at-will employees.  This language has been rejected by the bill sponsor.

Click here to stream the meeting or join via Zoom.

UPEA is asking you, as a public employee, to contact the members of the House Government Operations Committee, prior to the hearing and express your concern and displeasure about this development.

Rep. Cory Maloy – corymaloy@le.utah.gov – 801.477.0019

Rep. Norman Thurston – normthurston64@gmail.com – 801.477.5348

Rep. Walt Brooks – wbrooks@le.utah.gov – 435.817.3530

Rep. Jen Dailey-Provost – jdprovost@le.utah.gov – 385.321.7827

Rep. Phil Lyman – plyman@le.utah.gov – 435.459.2800

Rep. Michael Petersen   – mpetersen@le.utah.gov – 435.770.6925

Rep. Val Peterson – vpeterson@le.utah.gov – 801.224.4473

Rep. Candice Pierucci – cpierucci@le.utah.gov – 385.414.1488

Rep. Stephanie Pitcher  – spitcher@le.utah.gov – 385.272.8032

Rep. Steve Waldrip – swaldrip@le.utah.gov – 801.389.9329

Rep. Doug Welton – dwelton@le.utah.gov – 385.999.0403

Please DO NOT use state resources or equipment to contact your legislator.  Use your personal email address or phone number on your own time.

Please contact your individual legislator, members of House leadership, and the Governor’s office regarding this bill.